Sacra di San Michele
Known as being the abbey that gave the famous Italian author Umberto Eco (1932-2016) the inspiration for his best-selling book “The name of the Rose”, the Sacra of S. Michele, is situated on the summit of Mount Pirchirano and overlooks the villages of Avigliana and Chiusa di San Michele. It was built between 983 and 987.
The Abbey, which for much of its history came under Benedictine rule, is now entrusted to the Rosminians. A special regional law acknowledges it as the “symbolic monument of Piemonte”.
Dedicated to the Archangel Michael, defender of the Christian people, the Sacra di San Michele fits inside a route of pilgrimage (over 2000 km long) which runs from Mont Saint Michel in Normandy to Monte Sant’Angelo in Puglia.
The Sacra di San Michele offers guided tours and events all year round and from its towers you can admire Turin and also have a breathtaking view of the Val di Susa.
The site is accessible to people with disabilities.
Below, an aerial video of the Sacra di San Michele.